Any person seeking admission to the Louisiana Bar shall apply to the Committee on Bar Admissions AND shall request that the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) prepare a character report.
First Time Applicants
Louisiana law school graduates who did not timely register in the Law Student Registration Program (second year of law school).
Recent law graduates.
Members of another jurisdiction's bar.
Non-members whose application is received more than one year after the J.D. is awarded.
Register for the Bar Exam ($875)
- Print and mail completed Bar Application along with signed and notarized Authorization and Release form.
- Print Dean Certification Form, sign and mail to your law school
- Complete an online "NCBE Character Report Application" by selecting Character & Fitness from the navigation menu in your NCBE account.
February Exam: September 1 - November 1
July Exam: December 1 - February 1
Failure to complete the bar application by the filing deadline will result in a $750 late filing fee.
The Dean Certification form is mailed directly to your law school and is due 45 days prior to the commencement of the examination. The form is included in the printed packet that is available after submission of a digital portion of the bar exam.
Character and Fitness (Third Party Fees Apply)
All applicants are also required to complete the online "NCBE Character Report Application' with the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE). LASCBA will use this report to approve a candidate's 'Character and Fitness' requirements to be admitted to the Louisana Bar. Read More »
Louisiana-Specific Criminal Background Forms (Third Party Fees Apply)
Applicants are required to undergo fingerprinting and a state and federal criminal background check which is due at the same time as the request for 'Preparation of a Character' report.
The process can be initiated at the Louisiana State Police office or a local law enforcement agency. More information is available
Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) (Third Party Fees Apply)
All applicants are also required to score at least an 80 or higher on the MPRE exam. The MPRE is administered on the NCBE's behalf by the Law School Admission Council (LASC). Please contact the MPRE Records Department at (608) 280-8550 or at (NCBE) MPRE Score Services to release a score to Louisiana after taking the exam. Read More »
ADA Accommodations: Requests for accommodations under the ADA must be received on or before November 1 for the February bar exam or on or before February 1 for the July bar exam. Please click here for more info on ADA and/or courtesy accommodations.